Zapier for New Zealand businesses.

Zapier is the easiest automation tool to start with, and its AI features now run on the same task meter as everything else. Here is how to price an AI Zap before it surprises you, and a first Zap built on Xero.

Tool guide6 min readUpdated 19 October 2026

Short answer

Zapier is a hosted automation platform that connects more than 9,000 apps, and Zapier AI adds AI steps, agents and an MCP server on top. As listed on 19 October 2026, Professional starts at US$19.99 a month billed yearly for 750 tasks. Each AI step uses 1, 3 or 5 tasks depending on the model tier, and Zapier stores data on AWS in the United States.

  • Zapier prices in USD; Professional starts at US$19.99 a month billed yearly for 750 tasks.
  • AI by Zapier steps use 1, 3 or 5 tasks depending on the model tier.
  • Each Zapier MCP tool call uses two tasks; failed calls are free.
  • Filters, Paths, Formatter, Delay and Tables steps never use tasks.
  • Zapier stores data on AWS in the US and says it does not train on workflow data.

What Zapier is good and bad at for NZ businesses

Zapier connects apps with “Zaps”: a trigger in one app (a new invoice, a form entry, an email) runs actions in others. It is the quickest automation tool for a non-technical New Zealand team to learn, with 9,000+ app integrations, and its AI features now sit inside the same builder:

  • AI by Zapier steps turn a prompt into structured fields, such as a category, a summary or a drafted reply, with a choice of model tier.
  • Zapier MCP lets AI assistants such as Claude, ChatGPT and Cursor run Zapier actions as tool calls, with app credentials kept in Zapier’s connection layer rather than passed to the model.
  • Zapier Agents and Chatbots are separate add-ons with their own allowances.
  • The Zapier SDK gives developers code access to the same app integrations, and was free while in beta on 19 October 2026.

Zapier is weaker on long, branching workflows at volume, where Make or n8n usually cost less, and on data control, because everything is hosted in the United States. It also hides one important number, the overage rate, inside account settings.

What Zapier costs, and how AI uses tasks

Zapier’s pricing page shows a currency selector set to USD. It does not state tax treatment for New Zealand.

Plan (as listed on 19 October 2026) Billed yearly Billed monthly Included
Free US$0 US$0 100 tasks a month, two-step Zaps
Professional From US$19.99 a month From US$29.99 a month From 750 tasks a month
Team From US$69 a month From US$103.50 a month From 2,000 tasks a month, 25 users, SAML SSO
Enterprise Contact sales Contact sales Custom
Agents add-on, Pro US$33.33 a month (US$400 a year) Not shown 1,500 activities a month

A task is a successful action. According to Zapier’s help centre, triggers, failed or halted steps, Filters, Paths, Formatter, Delay, Looping, Storage, Tables and Forms do not count. The task rates page sets the AI and code prices:

Step type Tasks used
AI by Zapier, standard model 1 per step (no tool calls)
AI by Zapier, your own model account 1 per step, 1 per tool call
AI by Zapier, advanced model 3 per step, 3 per tool call
AI by Zapier, premium model 5 per step, 5 per tool call
Code by Zapier 1 per step
Zapier MCP 2 per tool call
Lead Router 5 per step

Worked example (USD): a Zap handles 120 overdue invoices a month with three counted steps: an AI step, a Gmail draft and a Slack message. On a standard model that is 120 × 3 = 360 tasks, comfortably inside Professional’s 750. Switch the AI step to a premium model and it becomes 120 × (5 + 2) = 840 tasks, over the limit. Paid plans then switch to pay-per-task billing at a higher rate shown only in billing settings, and Zaps stop at three times the plan limit. Model choice is a pricing decision.

Where Zapier keeps your data

Zapier’s security page says it stores data on Amazon Web Services in the United States. It says it does not train on the data that runs through your workflows, on any plan, but may learn from how workflows are built (structure, not contents); Enterprise accounts are opted out of that automatically, and other plans can opt out with a form. Zapier states it holds SOC 2 Type II and SOC 3 reports and offers a data processing agreement.

For the Privacy Act 2020, Zapier is mostly processing on your behalf, so the obligations stay with you. The one that bites automation is IPP 8: before you use personal information, take reasonable steps to check it is accurate and up to date. An automated payment reminder sent to a customer who paid yesterday, or addressed to a former contact, is an accuracy failure as well as an embarrassment. Build checks into the Zap rather than relying on the AI step.

Zapier with Xero and other NZ software

Zapier’s Xero integration listed 18 triggers and 25 actions on 20 October 2026, including Overdue Sales Invoice, New Bill and New Quote triggers, and Create Bill, Create Sales Invoice, Send Sales Invoice by Email and Upload Attachment actions. Some employee items are marked as Australian-only, so check before relying on payroll steps. Xero’s developer terms now ban training AI models on Xero API data, which fits Zapier’s stated no-training position, but check the terms of any model provider you connect through your own model account. See AI and Xero for Xero’s own AI and MCP options.

Starter project: draft overdue-invoice reminders from Xero

This replaces a generic tutorial with a Zap that saves a weekly job without sending anything on its own. Every reminder lands as a draft for a person to check.

  1. Trigger on Xero. Choose Xero’s “Overdue Sales Invoice” trigger and connect a Xero user who can see sales invoices.
  2. Calculate days overdue. Add a Formatter date step (no task cost) to work out the number of days since the due date.
  3. Filter out small or fresh items. Add a Filter (no task cost) so the Zap only continues for invoices at least seven days overdue.
  4. Add an AI by Zapier step. Pick a standard model and paste the prompt below, with output fields for subject and body.
  5. Create a Gmail or Outlook draft, then post to Slack or Teams. The message tells the accounts person a draft is waiting. Nothing is sent automatically.
  6. Check before sending, for a month. Before each send, confirm in Xero that the invoice is still unpaid. Count drafts sent unchanged, edited and discarded.
Write a short payment reminder email in New Zealand English from [Business name] to the customer below.

Invoice number: {{Invoice Number}}
Amount due: {{Amount Due}}
Due date: {{Due Date}}
Days overdue: {{Days Overdue}}

Tone: friendly if under 14 days overdue; firmer from 14 to 30 days; over 30 days, ask the customer to call us to arrange payment.
Keep it under 120 words. Never mention legal action, debt collection or extra fees. Do not change any figure.

Return two fields: subject, body

The draft-then-check pattern is covered in drafting emails with human review.

Zapier, Make or n8n?

Choose Zapier when ease matters most, the workflows are short, and someone non-technical will maintain them. Make usually costs less for multi-step scenarios: see Make versus Zapier. n8n suits technical teams, long workflows and NZ self-hosting: see Zapier versus n8n.

Where Zaps go wrong

  • Model tier creep. Someone upgrades an AI step to “premium” for one tricky case, and every run now costs five tasks.
  • Hidden overage rate. Look it up in billing settings before launch, not after the invoice.
  • Agent sprawl. Zapier MCP and Agents let AI take actions in your apps. Zapier says IT can switch MCP on or off per workspace, set app and action-level access controls, and see a history of every MCP action. Use all three, start with read-only actions, and read our lesson on recognising prompt injection.
  • Stale add-on copy. The Chatbots add-on description still mentioned GPT-3.5 on 19 October 2026. Confirm which model a chatbot uses before deploying it.

If you want Zaps designed with task budgets, checks and review queues from the start, that is our AI workflow automation service.

Sources

  1. Zapier pricing, Zapier, Accessed 19 October 2026
  2. Task usage rates, Zapier, Accessed 19 October 2026
  3. How is task usage measured in Zapier, Zapier Help, Accessed 19 October 2026
  4. Metered tasks in Zapier, Zapier Help, Accessed 19 October 2026
  5. Zapier MCP, Zapier, Accessed 20 October 2026
  6. Security and compliance, Zapier, Accessed 20 October 2026
  7. Xero integrations, Zapier, Accessed 20 October 2026
  8. Pricing and policy updates FAQ, Xero Developer, Accessed 19 October 2026
  9. Privacy Act 2020, New Zealand Legislation, Version as at 1 October 2026

Written by the Levy Street team in Wellington. Last updated 19 October 2026.

Questions people ask

How much does Zapier cost in New Zealand?

Zapier prices in US dollars. As listed on 19 October 2026, the Free plan includes 100 tasks a month and two-step Zaps. Professional starts at US$19.99 a month billed yearly, or US$29.99 monthly, for 750 tasks. Team starts at US$69 a month billed yearly, or US$103.50 monthly, for 2,000 tasks and 25 users. Your card provider converts to NZD, and the page does not state tax treatment.

How does Zapier charge for AI?

AI by Zapier steps use tasks like any other action: 1 task for standard models or your own model account, 3 for advanced models and 5 for premium models. Each tool call an AI step makes is billed separately, and standard models cannot make tool calls. Zapier MCP calls from Claude, ChatGPT or Cursor use 2 tasks each. Zapier Agents is a separate add-on billed in activities.

What happens if I go over my Zapier task limit?

Paid plans switch to pay-per-task billing at a higher rate, which Zapier shows only in your billing settings. Zaps keep running until total usage reaches three times your plan’s task limit, then they stop. Check the rate in billing settings before launching an AI Zap, and set the model tier deliberately, because premium models use five times as many tasks as standard ones.

Does Zapier use my data to train AI?

Zapier says it does not train on the data that runs through your workflows, on any plan. It may learn from how workflows are built, meaning their structure rather than their contents. Enterprise accounts are opted out of that automatically, and other plans can opt out using a form, which Zapier says does not change how workflows run. Zapier stores data on AWS in the United States.

Does Zapier work with Xero?

Yes. As checked on 20 October 2026, Zapier’s Xero integration listed 18 triggers, including New Sales Invoice, Overdue Sales Invoice and New Bill, and 25 actions, including Create Bill, Create Sales Invoice, Create New Quote Draft and Upload Attachment. Some employee items are marked as Australian-only. Test write actions on a demo company before pointing them at your live Xero organisation.

Have something to build?

Tell us about the workflow. We will map where AI can change speed, margin or decision quality, and what it would take to run it in production.