# AI tools pricing for New Zealand businesses.

URL: https://levystreet.com/resources/ai-tools-pricing-nz/
Updated: 2026-10-19

AI tools pricing for NZ businesses as listed on 19 October 2026: ChatGPT, Claude, Microsoft Copilot, Gemini, Copilot Studio, n8n, Make, Zapier and API prices.

## Short answer

As listed on 19 October 2026, ChatGPT Business costs NZ$33 per user a month billed annually, Claude Team Standard $40 a seat shown GST-inclusive, the Microsoft 365 Copilot Business add-on NZ$34 excluding tax, and Google Workspace Business Standard, with Gemini included, NZ$21. Automation platforms and model APIs are priced in USD or euros. Check currency and GST before comparing.

- Prices are as listed on 19 October 2026; vendors change them often.
- Currencies differ: NZD, USD, euros, and some pages show an unlabelled $.
- Microsoft's NZ prices exclude tax; Claude's NZ page says prices include GST.
- Seat minimums, unassigned seats and usage limits change the real cost.

These are vendor list prices captured from a New Zealand connection on 19 October 2026. Vendors change prices, plan names and promotions often, and several test different prices on their pages. Re-check the vendor's own page and your checkout before you buy.


## How to read these prices

Currency and tax differ by vendor, so compare carefully:

- **NZD shown to New Zealand visitors:** ChatGPT, Microsoft and Google Workspace. Microsoft says its prices exclude tax. ChatGPT and Google do not say.
- **Unlabelled "$" with a GST note:** Claude's New Zealand view says "Prices include 15% GST" but does not label the currency.
- **USD:** Claude Enterprise, Copilot Studio, Zapier and all model APIs.
- **Euros:** n8n.
- **Unlabelled "$":** Make; probably USD, but the page does not say.

## How to compare plans


1. **Start with what you already pay for.** Check the AI included in your Microsoft 365 or Google Workspace plan first.
2. **Put prices on one basis.** NZD, per user per month, excluding GST, on the same billing term. Claude's $40 shown GST-inclusive is $34.78 before GST.
3. **Add the whole cost.** Seat minimums, base licences a plan depends on, and usage beyond the allowance.
4. **Trial on monthly billing.** Test a shortlisted plan on real tasks for a month before committing to a year.
5. **Re-check at checkout.** The price you are charged is the one on the vendor's page that day.


## Business AI assistants

| Product | Plan | Price as listed | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| [ChatGPT](/tools/chatgpt/) | Business, Standard seat | NZ$33 per user a month billed annually; NZ$41 monthly | GST not stated; minimum 2 seats; API use billed separately |
| ChatGPT | Business, Premium seat | NZ$165 annually; NZ$205 monthly | Five times Standard usage |
| ChatGPT | Enterprise | Through sales | Credit- or token-based options |
| ChatGPT | Plus (individual) | NZ$40 a month | Consumer plan; content used for training unless you opt out |
| [Claude](/tools/claude/) | Pro | $33 a month annually ($400 up front); $40 monthly | Shown as including 15% GST |
| Claude | Team, Standard seat | $40 per seat a month annually; $50 monthly | Teams of 2 to 150; shown as including GST |
| Claude | Team, Premium seat | $200 annually; $250 monthly | Five times Standard usage |
| Claude | Enterprise | US$20 per seat a month, billed annually, plus usage at API rates | Minimum 20 seats |
| [Microsoft Copilot](/tools/microsoft-copilot/) | Copilot Business add-on | NZ$34.00 per user a month, paid yearly | Excludes tax; first-year promotion NZ$29.14 on annual commitments from 1 July to 31 December 2026; needs a qualifying Microsoft 365 plan; up to 300 users |
| Microsoft 365 | Business Standard with Copilot | NZ$38.00 per user a month, paid yearly | Excludes tax |
| Microsoft 365 | Business Premium with Copilot | NZ$51.80 per user a month, paid yearly | Excludes tax |
| Microsoft Copilot | Enterprise add-on | NZ$48.50 per user a month, paid yearly | Excludes tax; needs a qualifying licence |
| Microsoft Copilot Chat | Included | No additional cost with an eligible Microsoft 365 subscription | Agents are metered and need an Azure subscription |
| [Google Workspace with Gemini](/tools/gemini/) | Business Starter, Standard, Plus | NZ$10.50, NZ$21 and NZ$33 per user a month | Gemini included; Starter has Gemini in Gmail only; billing term unclear on the page |
| [Gemini Notebook](/tools/notebooklm/) (formerly NotebookLM) | Free Standard tier | NZ$0 | 100 notebooks, 50 sources each; higher limits through Google AI plans, qualifying Workspace plans or Google Cloud |

## Agent builders and automation platforms

| Product | Plan | Price as listed | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| [Copilot Studio](/tools/copilot-studio/) | Pay-as-you-go | US$0.01 per Copilot Credit | Billed monthly through Azure |
| Copilot Studio | Capacity pack | US$200 a month, billed annually, for 25,000 credits | Unused credits do not roll over; the NZ page shows NZ$323.60, not confirmed as the pack price |
| Copilot Studio | Credit rates | Generative answer 2 credits; agent action 5; tenant Graph grounding 10 | No charge for employee use by licensed Microsoft Copilot users |
| [n8n](/tools/n8n/) | Starter, Pro | €20 and €50 a month annually; €24 and €60 monthly | 2,500 and 10,000 executions a month; cloud data held in Frankfurt |
| n8n | Business | €667 a month annually; €800 monthly | 40,000 executions; self-hosted only |
| n8n | Community Edition | Free | Self-hosted under the Sustainable Use License |
| [Make](/tools/make/) | Free, Core, Pro, Teams | $0, $9, $16, $29 a month annually at 10,000 credits | Monthly billing $10.59, $18.82, $34.12; Free has 1,000 credits |
| [Zapier](/tools/zapier/) | Professional | From US$19.99 a month yearly for 750 tasks; US$29.99 monthly | AI steps use 1, 3 or 5 tasks by model tier |
| Zapier | Team | From US$69 a month yearly for 2,000 tasks; US$103.50 monthly | Free plan has 100 tasks |

## Model API prices

USD per million tokens, standard tier, before tax. Batch processing is 50% cheaper on all three providers.

| Model | Input | Output |
|---|---|---|
| OpenAI GPT-6 Astra | 10.00 | 50.00 |
| OpenAI GPT-6.1 Sol | 2.00 | 10.00 |
| OpenAI GPT-6 Luna | 0.10 | 0.50 |
| Anthropic Claude Fable 5.1 | 10.00 | 50.00 |
| Anthropic Claude Opus 5.5 | 4.00 | 20.00 |
| Anthropic Claude Sonnet 5.5 | 2.00 | 10.00 |
| Anthropic Claude Haiku 5.5 (prompts up to 100K tokens) | 0.10 | 0.50 |
| Google Gemini 4 Argon (until 30 November 2026; 4.00 and 20.00 from 1 December) | 2.00 | 10.00 |
| Google Gemini 3.8 Flash (until 31 December 2026; 1.50 and 7.50 from 1 January 2027) | 0.75 | 3.75 |
| Google Gemini 3.5 Flash-Lite | 0.30 | 2.50 |

At the European Central Bank cross rate of NZ$1.7656 per US dollar on 16 October 2026, GPT-6.1 Sol's input price is about NZ$3.53 per million tokens. Use the [AI cost calculator](/resources/ai-cost-calculator/) to turn these into a monthly figure.

## Worked example: a 10-person team for a year

Illustrative example, at list prices with annual billing. These products are not like-for-like.

| Option | Calculation | Annual cost |
|---|---|---|
| ChatGPT Business Standard | 10 × NZ$33 × 12 | NZ$3,960, GST not stated |
| Claude Team Standard | 10 × $40 × 12 | $4,800, shown GST-inclusive |
| Copilot Business add-on | 10 × NZ$34 × 12 | NZ$4,080 excluding tax (NZ$3,497 at the first-year promotion), plus the Microsoft 365 licence you need anyway |
| Google Workspace Business Standard | 10 × NZ$21 × 12 | NZ$2,520, which includes email and office apps |

## Common mistakes: price traps to check


- Annual or monthly billing: annual is cheaper but locks you in.
- Seat minimums: two for ChatGPT Business, twenty for Claude Enterprise.
- Unassigned seats: ChatGPT Business charges for every purchased seat each cycle.
- Usage limits: Claude limits reset on a rolling five-hour window, with weekly limits on paid plans.
- Promotions ending: Copilot Business first-year pricing, Gemini 4 Argon from 1 December 2026, Gemini 3.8 Flash from 1 January 2027.
- Credits running out: Make scenarios stop until credits are added; Zapier moves to pay-per-task.
- Consumer versus business plans: data and training terms differ.


## Next step

Match a plan to how your team works with [choosing business AI subscriptions](/learn/choosing-business-ai-subscriptions/), then trial the shortlisted option on real tasks for a month before committing to annual billing.

## Questions people ask

### How much does ChatGPT cost for a business in New Zealand?

As listed on 19 October 2026, ChatGPT Business showed NZ$33 per user a month billed annually, or NZ$41 billed monthly, for a Standard seat, with a minimum of two seats. A Premium seat with five times the usage was NZ$165 a month annually. The page did not say whether GST is included. Enterprise pricing is through OpenAI's sales team.

### Is Microsoft Copilot cheaper than ChatGPT for a New Zealand business?

On list price per seat they are close: the Copilot Business add-on was NZ$34 a month excluding tax, paid yearly, against NZ$33 for ChatGPT Business billed annually with GST not stated. But Copilot needs a qualifying Microsoft 365 licence, and the products do different jobs. Copilot works inside your Microsoft 365 data; ChatGPT is a standalone assistant.

### Do AI subscription prices include GST?

It varies. Microsoft's New Zealand pages say prices exclude tax. Anthropic's Claude page, viewed from New Zealand, says prices include 15% GST but does not label the currency. OpenAI's and Google's New Zealand pages show NZD without a tax statement. Automation platforms and APIs show USD or euros. Confirm on your first invoice and ask your accountant how GST applies.

### What is the cheapest way for a small team to start with AI?

Use what you already pay for. Microsoft Copilot Chat costs nothing extra with an eligible Microsoft 365 subscription, though without a Copilot licence it is mostly web-grounded and does not search across your organisation's files. Google Workspace Business plans include Gemini features. Test those on real tasks before buying separate assistant seats.


## Sources

- [ChatGPT pricing](https://chatgpt.com/pricing/)
- [ChatGPT Business overview](https://help.openai.com/en/articles/8792828-chatgpt-business-overview)
- [Claude pricing](https://claude.com/pricing)
- [Microsoft Copilot business pricing (New Zealand)](https://www.microsoft.com/en-nz/copilot/pricing/business)
- [Compare Microsoft 365 business plans (New Zealand)](https://www.microsoft.com/en-nz/microsoft-365/business/compare-all-microsoft-365-business-products)
- [Microsoft Copilot Studio licensing guidance](https://www.microsoft.com/licensing/guidance/Microsoft-Copilot-Studio)
- [Copilot Studio billing rates](https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-copilot-studio/requirements-messages-management)
- [Google Workspace pricing (New Zealand)](https://workspace.google.com/pricing?hl=en_nz)
- [Upgrade Gemini Notebook](https://support.google.com/gemininotebook/answer/16213268?hl=en)
- [n8n pricing](https://n8n.io/pricing/)
- [Make pricing](https://www.make.com/en/pricing)
- [Zapier pricing](https://zapier.com/pricing)
- [API pricing](https://developers.openai.com/api/docs/pricing)
- [Pricing](https://platform.claude.com/docs/en/about-claude/pricing)
- [Gemini Developer API pricing](https://ai.google.dev/gemini-api/docs/pricing)

Published by Levy Street (https://levystreet.com), Wellington, New Zealand.
